6 replies to this topic

#1 Bangarang

Bangarang

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 January 2017 - 02:58 AM

Hi everyone,
I started Chantix 7 days ago. I've been smoking for about 15 years. So far, I haven't had any terrible side effects - other than a sinus infection and being tired - but those could just be due to the winter months.
I'm not really seeing a difference yet, being on Chantix. I'm maybe smoking just a few less cigarettes per day at this point. I really hope Chantix will work for me but I'm also becoming a little concerned since I haven't seen a huge difference yet. I'm trying to be more mindful of my habits and I'm hoping this extra support/message board can be helpful.

Did anyone else have see the effects of Chantix really start to work in the later weeks? I'm still on the 0.5 mg twice a day, so I'm not up to the maintenance dosage just yet.

Any feedback would be great. :)

#2 Jillar

Jillar

Nothing Worthwhile Comes Easily

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 13,009 posts
  • quitdate:
    2016-05-29
  • LocationIn my living room

Posted 25 January 2017 - 03:58 AM

Welcome bangarang, chantix works great for suppressing urges but it won't make you magically quit smoking. You still have to want and be ready to quit. That being said, it does take differing times for the chantix to start working on your receptors that's why it says to pick a day between 5- 35 (if I remember correctly). I took it a few years ago and quit smoking after the first week, stayed quit for three weeks, stopped taking it and instantly started smoking again. Simply because I wasn't truly ready to quit.
You'll get a lot more advice if you post on the main board. These sub forums don't get too many views. :)

image.png?base_img=5&size=0&date_yr=2016

1zzrf54.jpg

Things began to get better when I realized I would remain quit even if things never got any better.

Christian99 16 Years Quit