Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,434 posts
  • quitdate:
    2016-08-08

Posted 05 July 2016 - 05:46 PM

Good afternoon all,

This is my first time on a message board so if I don't use it correctly, please don't hesitate to let me know. 

I am a month shy of being 56 years old.  I have smoked as long as I can remember starting out sneaking behind the house with my friends.  I have really only tried to quit once by using the patches but that didn't go well at all.

Being a competitive swimmer all of my childhood, I have now started getting these nasty little things called skin cancer.  My doctor told me that before I have these removed and a possible skin graft on one, I really need to STOP smoking.  Because of the oxygen that is deprived from your skin and body by smoking, healing is not as swift as a nonsmoker. 

I am on my third day of Chantix and so far so good except I still have my usual cravings for my smokes.  I don't really have a quit day yet hoping that I'll just quit after being on the pills for a couple of weeks.  The only side effect I have had is a crazy dream last night.  I was actually looking forward to the dreams as I have read in reviews that people were hesitant to get off the Chantix because they would miss their vivid dreams.  Mine was of my ex husband and his new wife. This was enough to make me want to smoke a whole pack at one time!  Hopefully I can change the channel on my dreams tonight.

Please offer me encouragement and any advice that you may have.

I really want to quit and hopefully live a smoke free, stinky free, healthy life.

#2 Jillar

Jillar

Nothing Worthwhile Comes Easily

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 14,424 posts
  • quitdate:
    2016-05-29
  • LocationIn my living room

Posted 05 July 2016 - 06:20 PM