11 replies to this topic

#1 Trudey4ever

Trudey4ever

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 14 May 2016 - 01:56 AM

Hello everyone! I started taking Chantix on 5/1/16 and smoked my last cigarette on 5/4/16. My experience with Chantix has been amazing. I've experienced no negative side effects other than a little brain fog. I can even take it on an empty stomach and have no issues with nausea. The only difference I feel is that I am very, very calm. The feeling is similar to how I felt when I took Prozac for about a year (several years ago). I am very new to quitting and I know that I have to watch it very closely, but I am thankful that I am not smoking. Everyday is a gift.

There are things that I miss about smoking...mainly sitting on the porch, having a cigarette and chatting with my husband. Since we are both taking Chantix, we just kind of sit around quietly and avoid our triggers. Sometimes, I think we are acting like zombies, but I know that will get better with time. I do have to get control of my eating since I've gained 5 pounds, but I had lost 60 pounds since last September so I expected a little gain.

I am very fortunate to have health insurance that covers 100% of the cost of Chantix. I am only taking half of the prescribed dosage and I plan to take it for a month and a half.

I'm so happy that I found this forum. I love reading everyone's posts and I appreciate all the positive energy and helpful information. Thank you all!!!
  • Nancy. and Smurf like this
1462370400_20_1_USD_5_default.png

#2 Nancy.

Nancy.

Keeperbie

• Moderators
  • 12,685 posts
  • quitdate:
    2013-07-07
  • LocationKnoxville, TN

Posted 14 May 2016 - 05:26 PM