pam

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 22 July 2011 - 06:28 AM

Hi there!
I know so many of you on this forum. Nice to see you. I joined the "original community" about 2003. YES, that is how long I have been quitting. I have gone 1mo., 3mos., 6mos., up to 2 years quit. I have tried every method there is. Well, I have never given up hope of being able to quit. I had totally abandoned any thought of coming back here. I happened to be cruising through ECF (of which I am not yet a member). I have been using the electronic cigarette now for over 4 months and it has changed my life. I AM quitting -one milligram at a time. I started in March with 36mg nic. I am now down to 5.
I really don't understand all of the objection with the e-cigs. When I used Chantix, with all its side effects, I was able to quit for 2 years. I so thought I had “arrived”. I did still have to use the psychological and physical "tricks"to quit. The one that comes to mind is… I used to suck on straws with a q-tip in it. The q-tip was dipped in peppermint oil to give me that "fix" I needed in the early stage of the quit. I did give it up and move on with my quit. Very similar to the ecig. That was fine with everyone here.